Sign in to follow this  
jordanMINNESOTA

Making a game.

Using Mac OS X's developer software.. cocoa.

i'm gonna draw the graphics, and makes the sounds/ music.. it's gonna be very basic..because i'm just learning how to code in objective - c. but already I've managed to create a map and a moveable character{currently with stand-in graphics}. anyway.. i'll post updates in this thread, and pictures when somthing worth seeing is availabe. eventually i'll put up the final product of the game and you can download it and play! (if you have mac os x, i'm not doing crossplatform work)

the project is currently titled Sumas.

it'll be an adventure game with graphics in the style of japanese prints.

that's my starting goal... lets see how far i stray from it when i get frustrated ;p!

please cheer me on so i don't get discouraged with my first attempt at this and quit outright!

bump.

I've gotten bullets, targets, movement and points systems to work.

here's an image of the game without any graphics...

sumas01.jpg

coded all from scratch.

i've got some further ideas for the game and it will be highly puzzle/adventure oriented...

IE: navigate a map/maze to locate letters of a word and then be forced to unscramble the word in order to unlock the exit of the map.

of course that's just an example, and it hardly sounds exciting written out like that.. but the maps will be filled with traps and puzzles.

i'm still planning on using japanese print style graphics, the main character will be a nobel woman trying to track down her servents who've dissapeared from the temple grounds.

Japanese-Woman-by-the-Sea-Giclee-Print-C12065838.jpeg

what the fuck? how did you do that!?

i demand to be kept on frequent updates with this project

mac os xcomes with software developer tools... namely a program called X-Code, it's nested in the System installation disc.

as for learning the code, i bought a $9 ebook that teaches the basics of programming in xcode.